ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Every project big or small incurs debts in its execution. The debts we have incurred in the preparation of this document we acknowledge herein.

This documentation would never have been initiated but for the insistence of Mr.R.K.Anand, the executive chairperson of the Conference. We acknowledge his continued support for the project whilst allowing us the freedom of execution. We are also thankful to Mr.Rakesh Munjal for his smiling support at all stages of the project.

We are grateful to Ms. Meenakshi Das assisting us in collecting the medical literature. We are also thankful to Mr.S.Imran Ali for his voluntary assistance.

Several documents could not have been included but for a number of individuals giving us access to their private collections. We are grateful to Prof. Lotika Sarkar, Mr.H.D. Shourie, Mr.Manoj Pande, Mr.S.Muralidhar and the AIDS Bhedbhav Virodhi Andolan.

For being a constant sounding board and for many helpful suggestions we thank Ms.Usha Ramanathan.

We acknowledge the library support provided to us by the staff of B.B. Dikshit Medical Library, Delhi School of Social Work Library, Delhi School of Economics Library, Jawahar Lal Nehru University Library. Needless to say, the greatest support was provided by the staff of the Indian Law Institute library we are specially grateful to Mr. Pramod Singh, Ms. Nimmi Pande, Mr. Bhairon Dutt and Mr. S.Dayal. For the photocopying support provided we are thankful to Mr.Ram Narain. And for his coordinating assistance we are thankful to Mr.P.L.Batra.

For putting together a document with materials from diverse sources called for expert computer support. For the long hours of uncomplaining and expert assistance provided, we acknowledge the contribution of Ms. Neena Bhatia and Mr.R.Radhakrishnan . And we are thankful to the Rohilla Informatics Systems Limited and Mr. Sudhir Chhabra particularly for the swift and efficient printing of the document .

Last but not the least we are thankful to our Registrar Mr.K.S.Bhati for providing the administrative and logistics support without which this document could not have been completed.

Amita Dhanda Furqan Ahmad Kusum Kumar Thomas Paul