



JOURNAL OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Vol. 44

January-December 2002

ISSN 0019-5731

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairmen

Chief Justice S.P. Bharucha Chief Justice B.N. Kirpal Chief Justice G.B. Pattanaik Chief Justice V.N. Khare President. Indian Law Institute

Members

Justice M.J. Rao

Chairman Law Commission of India Formerly, Judge Supreme Court of India

Harish N. Salve

S.P. Sathe

Hon. Director

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

K.I. Vibhute
Professor of Law
University of Pune

Meena H. Rao Professor of Law University of Mumbai

A.S. Bhat Professor of Law Kashmir University

Editor

S.K. Verma

Director

Assistant Editors

Raman Mittal

Assistant Research Professor

Jyoti Dogra Sood

Assistant Research Professor

Editorial Advisory Board

Soli J. Sorabjee

Attorney General for India

A.M. Singhvi

Sr. Advocate

Supreme Court of India

B.P. Singh Sehgal

Professor of Law University of Jammu Lotika Sarkar

Formerly, Professor of Law University of Delhi

Justice M. Rama Jois

Formerly, Chief Justice

Punjab & Haryana High Court

G. Varandani

Professor of Law

Kurukshetra University

Cite this volume as 44 JILI (2002)

The Journal of Indian Law Institute is published four times a year. Contributions to the Journal are invited in the form of articles, notes and case comments. Contributions should be typed in double space on one side of A-4 size paper and should also be sent in $3\frac{1}{2}$ " floppy disk or as an attachment with e-mail at: 111@nde.vsnl.net.in

The Indian Law Institute shall be the sole copyright owner of all the published material. Apart from fair dealing for the purposes of research, private study or criticism no part of this Journal may be copied, adapted, abridged, translated, stored in any retrieval system, computer system, photographic or other system or reproduced in any form by any means whether electronic, mechanical, digital, optical, photographic or otherwise without prior written permission from the publisher.

The editors, publishers and printers do not claim any responsibility for the views expressed by the contributors and for the errors, if any, in the information contained in the Journal.