APPENDIX.

1. The Regulations of 11th April, 1780, established Mufassal Diwani Adalats at-	
I. 2.	Calcutta. 3. Purnea. 5. Burdwan. Dacca. 4. Murshidabad. 6. Patna.
Each of these Courts was to be presided over by a Covenanted Civil Servant.	
2. The Regulations of 6th April increased the number of Mufassal Courts to eighteen, viz.:—	
*1.	Midnapur—
	 District of Midnapur. Jellasore.
* ₂ .	Roganautpore 1 —
	 District of Pauchet,² and petty mahals ,, Bishnupur.
3.	Chatra—
	 District of Ramgarh [Hazaribagh.] ,, Palamau. ,, Nagpur. ,, Kendy. ,, Karagdiha. ,, Chakai.³
* 4·	Patna 4—
*5.	 Sarkar of Shahabad. ,, Behar. ,, Rohtas. Lowya 5—
3*	 Sarkar of Sarun including Hussipore. Champarun including Betia.

¹ Raghunathpur, a small town in head-quarters sub-division of Manbhum.

Often written Patchet, Patchaet, Panchkot. See O'Malley: Manbhum (Bengal District Gazetteers), pp. 53-54, 195-97.

^{*} See O'Malley: Monghyr (Bengal District Gazetteers), p. 200.

⁴ It was directed that "the Court at Patna is to remain until it shall be found on future experience more expedient to transfer the seat of its jurisdiction to some more central situation."

Lauriya. See O'Malley: Champaran (Bengal District Gazetteers), pp. 160-61.

*6. Darbhangh-

- Sarkar of Tirhut.
- Hajipur.
- Part of Purneah, W. of the Coozah [Kosi] River. 3.
- Bhagalpur, N. of the Ganges. 4.

*7. Tawjepur¹—

- District of Haveli Pinjerah or Dinajpur.
- Purneah (remainder).
- Maldah and part of Rajshahi, E. of the 3. Ganges.

8. Bhagalpur—

- Part of district of Rajmahal, W. of the Ganges.
- Bhagalpur, S. 2.
- Monghyr, S.
- Parganahs of Sultanabad and Amaar.

Rangpurg.

- District of Rangpur including Baharband.
- 2. Cooch Behar.
- 3. Rangamati.
- Goraghat and Bazuha.
- Seroopur, Patiladaha and Beterband [Bhitarband].

*_{10.} Nator-

- r. Parganah of Silberries [Salbaris] Division of Solution of Soluti

 - 10. Parganah of Saukny.
 11. District of Bettoreah and the portion of it S. of the Padma.
 - Parganah of Pookareah. 12.
 - Rokunpore. 13.
 - Lashkarpur. 14.
 - Chundly. 15.

Regulation V provides "that the seat of the Adalat, which has jurisdiction over the districts of Purneah, Dinajpur, etc., be removed from the former of these places to Tawjepur, as a more central situation within its general jurisdiction, and therefore more convenient for those who are rendered subject to it." It is significant of rapid and complete changes in Bengal that Mr. Beames, in his learned account of Akbar's Subahs (Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society, 1896), could not trace the town of Tajpur. It is, however shown in Rennell's Atlas.

- 16. Jahangirpur.
- 17. Colligong.
- 18. Tahirpur.
- 19. Messideh.
- 20. Hattindah.
- 21. Feetagungpur.
- 22. Maukawer.
- 23. Cossimpur.
- 24. Kirbah.
- 25. Other parts of this Division, S. of the River, as are not annexed to the jurisdiction of Rangpur.
- *11. Azmiriganj—Including all Sylhet and part of the Dacca Province to the N. of the Bramhaputra and Tista Rivers.
- *12. Dacca—Including portion of Dacca Province, bounded to the N. by the Brahmaputra and Tista, to the E. by Tipperah and Chittagong; to the W. by the Megna River as far as Chandpur, and thence to the N. W. by the Kali-Ganga, and Puddah to Bhushna on the W., and the districts that form the eastern boundary of the Nator jurisdiction.
- *13. Bakarganj—Portion of Dacca Province to S. W. of the Puddah and Kali-Ganga and to W. of the Megna from Chandpur to the Sea, having as its western limits the eastern frontiers of Bhushna and Jessore down to the mouth of the Raimangal, including all the islands belonging to and situated on the coast of the Dacca Province, excepting the parganah of Sandwip and its dependencies.
 - 14. Islamabad-
 - District of Chittagong.
 - 2. "Tipperah.
 - 3. Parganah of Sandwip and its dependencies.
- *15. Murli-
 - 1. District of Bhushna.
 - 2. Shahwejeal [Shahijil]
 - Jessore.
 - 4. Parganah of Mahmud-Shahi.
 - 5. Saiyadpur.

*16. Calcutta-

- Parganah of Krishnagar.
- 2. Chakla of Hughli, including Hijili, and 24-Parganahs and Mahomud-Aminpur [Muhammad Aminpur.1]
- *17. Burdwan—Chakla of Burdwan, and the district of Sautsyka and tannah of Cutwah [Katwa].

O'Malley: Hooghly (Bengal District Gazetteers), p. 296.

*18. Murshidabad-

- 1. Parganah of Birbhum.
- ,, Rajshahi, excluding Ammar and Sultanabad annexed to Bhagalpur, Surrupur, Patiladah and Beeterband annexed to Rangpur.
- 3. ,, Futtehsing.
- 4. Remainder of zilah of Murshidabad, S. of the Padma excepting Bhushna, tannah of Cutwah, and Shahijil.

The Courts in each of the districts marked with [*] asterisk, being "situated in large towns," were to be placed under the superintendence of a Covenanted Civil Servant to be styled a Judge (instead of Superintendent) and "distinct from that of the persons who remain in temporary charge of the collections."

The remaining Courts (Chatra, Bhagalpur, Islamabad and Rangpur) "being in general situated on the frontiers of Provinces, and too poor and thinly populated, that any additional courts or jurisdictions, instead of affording relief, might be productive of vexation to the inhabitants," were to be presided over by the Collectors, "until a more complete jurisdiction can be established."

- 3. By the Regulations of 5th July 1781, the following changes were made:—
 - The Mufassal Diwani Adalat at "Loyah" was transferred to Massey, i.e., Mehsi in Champaran district.
 - 2. Ditto ditto at "Rogonautpore" to Raj-
 - 3. Ditto ditto at "Azmeery Gange" to Sultemoe [Sultansi.]