

THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

The Indian Law Institute was established in December, 1956, under the presidentship of the Hon'ble Chief Justice of India to meet the long-felt demand for such an Institution on an all-India basis.

The principal objects of the Institute are to cultivate the science of law, to promote advanced studies and research in law and its administration and to promote reform in the administration of justice in a manner suitable to the needs of the people. The Institute will seek to promote simplification and systematisation of law and publish studies, treatises, per odicals, reports, etc., relating to law.

At present the Institute has a programme to promote academic legal research and writing and projects on Administrative Law and Constitutional Law.

Services of foreign scholars are secured for collaboration in the research work of the Institute. Exchange of students and teachers between India and foreign countries is also envisaged.

The Institute publishes this Journal in which the results of research, articles, case-comments and book reviews will regularly appear.

The membership of the Institute is open to all persons interested in the study, advancement and administration of law and justice. The services and opportunities offered by the Institute to its members include supply of the Journal, proceedings of seminars and research publications, reference library and participation in the Institute's activities.

For Memorandum of Association, Rules and Regulations of the Institute, and other information, please write to:—The Research Director, Indian Law Institute, Supreme Court Building, New Delhi-1.



THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Patron-in-Chief :	Dr. Rajendra Prasad, President of India.
Patrons :	Dr. Radhakrishnan, Vice President of India. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Prime Minister of India.
President :	The Hon'ble Shri B.P. Sinha, Chief Justice of India.
Vice-Presidents :	 Shri A.K. Sen, Minister of Law. Shri M.C. Setalvad, Attorney-General of India. Sardar Swaran Singh, Minister of Steel, M nes & Fuel.
Executive Committee :	Dr. K.M. Munshi, Executive Chairman. Shri Justice P.B. Gajendragadkar, Treasurer. Shri C.B. Agarwala, Secretary. Shri Justice K.N. Wanchoo. Shri B. Jagannadhadas. Shri Justice S.K. Das. Shri C.K. Daphthary. Shri N.C. Chatterjee. Shri S.M. Sikri. Shri Purshottam Trikamdas. Shri R.M. Hajarnavis. Shri Rama Prasad Mookerjee.
Editorial Board :	Dr. K.M. Munshi, Chairman, Shri S.M. Sikri. Shri Justice P.B. Mukharji. Shri N.C. Chatterjee. Shri C.B. Agarwala. Shri H.N. Sanyal. Shri Rama Prasad Mookerjee. Shri M.P. Amin. Prof. V.N. Shukla. Shri V.G. Ramachandran (Jt. Ed.) Shri K.B. Nambyar (Asst. Ed.)
Editor:	Dr. A.T. Markose.