

# **JOURNAL** OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

EDITOR: Dr. S. N. Jain ASSISTANT EDITOR: R. K. Raizada

> VOLUME 10 1968



THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE, NEW DELHI

Published by Dr. S.N. Jain, Acting Director, for The Indian Law Institute and printed at the Company Law Institute Press, 21, Thyagaraya Road, Madras-17.

CITE THIS VOLUME 10 7.I.L.I. (1968)

JOURNAL OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE is published quarterly. Subscriptions inland Rs. 20/- per year; overseas £1. 10s. or \$ 5.00 per year. Single issue inland Rs. 5/-; overseas 7s. 6d. or \$1.25 except higher rates for special issues. The Journal follows the practice of other law journals in automatically billing subscribers in advance for a new year unless notified to the contrary.

Subscriptions, manuscripts, changes of address notices, undeliverable copies, and al correspondence should be sent to the JOURNAL OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE, The Indian Law Institute, Opposite Supreme Court of India, Bhagwandas Road, New Delhi.

Copyright (C) by The Indian Law Institute

# THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE, NEW DELHI

#### Patron-in-Chief

Dr. Zakir Hussain, President of India

#### Patrons

Mr. V. V. Giri, Vice-President of India Mrs. Indira Gandhi, Prime Minister of India

#### President

Mr. Justice M. Hidayatullah, Chief Justice of India

## Vice-Presidents

Mr. P. Govinda Menon, Minister for Law

Mr. Swaran Singh, Minister for Defence

Mr. Niren De, Attorney-General of India

## **Executive Committee**

Mr. Justice S. M. Sikri, Judge, Supreme Court of India (Treasurer)

Mr. Justice J. C. Shah, Judge, Supreme Court of India

Mr. Justice V. Ramaswami, Judge, Supreme Court of India

Mr. Justice J. M. Shelat, Judge, Supreme Court of India

Mr. M. C. Setalvad, M.P., Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

Mr. C. K. Daphtary, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

Mr. S. V. Gupte, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

Dr. V. N. Shukla, Dean, Faculty of Law, Lucknow University

Dr. S. N. jain, Acting Director, The Indian Law Institute (Secretary)

# **Editorial Committee**

Mr. Justice M. Hidayatullah, Chief Justice of India

Mr. M. C. Setalvad, M.P., Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

Dr. S. N. Jain, Acting Director, The Indian Law Institute (Editor)

Mr. R. K. Raizada (Assistant Editor)