

THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW VOLUME XXIV: 1988

EDITOR: ALICE JACOB ASSISTANT EDITOR: THOMAS PAUL

© The Indian Law Institute

Mode of Citation XXIV ASIL (1988)

Inland: Rs. 150.00

Foreign: £ 15.00; \$ 25.00

Printed at Tara Art Press, B-4 Hans Bhawan, B.S. Zafar Marg, New Delhi-110002

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

Chief Justice E.S. Venkataramiah

Members

S.B. Wad, Judge, High Court of Delhi

Upendra Baxi, Professor of Law, Delhi University

Lotika Sarkar, Senior Fellow, Centre for Women's Development Studies; Formerly Professor of Law, Delhi University

Anand Prakash, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

J.K. Mittal, Research Professor, Indian Law Institute

Editor

Alice Jacob, Director (Administration), Indian Law Institute

Assistant Editor

Thomas Paul, Assistant Editor (Publications), Indian Law Institute

Distinguished Fellows of the Indian Law Institute

Justice M. Hidayatullah

Justice K.K. Mathew

Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Professor G.S. Sharma

Professor Lotika Sarkar

Professor M.P. Jain

Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

Honorary Professors of the Indian Law Institute

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad