

# THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

# ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW

**VOLUME XXVII: 1991** 

EDITOR: ALICE JACOB ASSISTANT EDITOR: THOMAS PAUL

## © The Indian Law Institute

Mode of Citation XXVII ASIL (1991)

Inland: Rs. 300.00 Foreign: £ 20.00; \$ 30.00

Published by P.M. Bakshi, Director, for the Indian Law Institute and Printed at Tara Ar Press, B-4 Hans Bhawan, B.S. Zafar Marg, New Delhi-110002

## **EDITORIAL COMMITTEE**

#### Chairman

Chief Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah

#### **Members**

S.B. Wad, Judge, High Court of Delhi (Retd). Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India.

Upendra Baxi, Vice-Chancellor, Delhi University

Lotika Sarkar, Consultant, Centre for Women's Development Studies; Formerly Professor of Law, Delhi University

Anand Prakash, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

P.M. Bakshi, Director, Indian Law Institute

J.K. Mittal, Research Professor, Indian Law Institute

#### **Editor**

Alice Jacob, Research Professor, Indian Law Institute

#### **Assistant Editor**

Thomas Paul, Assistant Research Professor, Indian Law Institute



# Distinguished Fellows of the Indian Law Institute

Justice M. Hidayatullah

Justice K.K. Mathew

Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Professor Lotika Sarkar

Professor M.P. Jain

Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

# Honorary Professors of the Indian Law Institute

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad