

THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW

VOLUME XXIX: 1993

EDITOR: ALICE JACOB

© The Indian Law Institute

Published: Dec. 1994

Mode of Citation XXIX ASIL (1993)

Inland: Rs. 300.00 Foreign: £ 20.00; \$ 30.00

Published by K.S. Bhati, Registrar, for the Indian Law Institute and printed at Tara Art Press, B-4 Hans Bhawan, B.S. Zafar Marg, New Delhi-110002

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

Chairman

Chief Justice A.M. Ahmadi

Members

S.B. Wad, Judge, High Court of Delhi (Retd). Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India.

Upendra Baxi, Former Vice-Chancellor, Delhi University

Lotika Sarkar, Consultant, Centre for Women's Development Studies; Formerly Professor of Law, Delhi University

Anand Prakash, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India

Editor

Alice Jacob, Research Professor, Indian Law Institute



Distinguished Fellows of the Indian Law Institute

Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah

Professor Lotika Sarkar

Professor M.P. Jain

Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

Honorary Professors of the Indian Law Institute

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad