The Indian Law Institute



THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW VOLUME XXXI : 1995

ACTING EDITOR : THOMAS PAUL

www.ili.ac.in



© The Indian Law Institute

Mode of Citation XXXI ASIL (1995)

Inland : Rs. 300.00 Foreign : £ 20.00; \$ 30.00

Published by K.S. Bhati, Registrar, for the Indian Law Institute and printed at Tara Art Press, B-4 Hans Bhawan, B.S. Zafar Marg, New Delhi-110002



EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

CHAIRMAN

Chief Justice J.S. Verma President, Indian Law Institute

MEMBERS

R.K. Anand Senior Advocate, Vice-President Indian Law Institute

Justice Ashok A. Desai Judge, High Court of Bombay

S.P. Narang Secretary, The Institute of Company Secretaries of India

Rakesh Munjal Advocate, Supreme Court of India **S.K. Tandon** Delhi Judicial Officer, Tis Hazari

Kusum Kumar Associate Research Professor Indian Law Institute

Amita Dhanda Assistant Research Professor Indian Law Institute

K.S. Bhati Registrar, Indian Law Institute

ACTING EDITOR

Thomas Paul Assistant Research Professor Indian Law Institute



Distinguished Fellows of the Indian Law Institute

Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah Professor Lotika Sarkar Professor M.P. Jain Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

Honorary Professors of the Indian Law Institute

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad