

Annual Survey of INDIAN LAW 2001



THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW

VOLUME XXXVII: 2001

EDITOR: S. K. VERMA
CO-EDITOR: THOMAS PAUL

© The Indian Law Institute

The Indian Law Institute shall be the sole copyright owner of all the published material. Apart from fair dealing for the purposes of research, private study or criticism no part of this Survey may be copied, adapted, abridged, translated, stored in any retrieval system, computer system, photographic or other system or reproduced in any form by any means whether electronic, mechanical, digital, optical, photographic or otherwise without prior written permission from the publisher.

The editors, publishers and printers do not claim any responsibility for the views expressed by the contributors and for the errors, if any, in the information contained in the Survey.

Mode of Citation XXXVII ASIL (2001)

Inland: Rs. 450.00 Foreign: £ 20.00; \$ 30.00



EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

CHAIRMAN

Chief Justice A. S. Anand

President, Indian Law Institute

MEMBERS

Justice R.C. Lahoti

Judge, Supreme Court

Justice Ashok A. Desai

Chief Justice

Uttaranchal High Court

P.M. Bakshi

Former Director Indian Law Institute I.P. Massey

Member, State Human Rights Commission, Himachal Pradesh

P.P. Rao

Senior Advocate Supreme Court

M.P. Jain

Distinguished Fellow Indian Law Institute

EDITOR

S.K. Verma

Director Indian Law Institute

CO-EDITOR

Thomas Paul

Associate Research Professor Indian Law Institute



DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer

Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah

Professor Lotika Sarkar

Professor M.P. Jain

Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

HONORARY PROFESSORS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad