

## THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE **NEW DELHI**

# ANNUAL SURVEY **OF INDIAN LAW**

**VOLUME XXXIX: 2003** 

EDITOR: K. N. CHANDRASEKHARAN PILLAI

**CO-EDITOR: THOMAS PAUL** 



#### © The Indian Law Institute (2004)

The Indian Law Institute shall be the sole copyright owner of all the published material. Apart from fair dealing for the purposes of research, private study or criticism no part of this *Survey* may be copied, adopted, abridged, translated, stored in any retrieval system, computer system, photographic or other system or reproduced in any form by any means whether electronic, mechnical, digital, optical, photographic or otherwise without prior written permission from the publisher.

The editors, publishers and printers do not claim any responsibility for the views expressed by the contributors and for the errors, if any, in the information contained in the *Survey*.

Mode of Citation XXXIX ASIL (2003)

Inland: Rs. 600.00 Foreign: £ 25.00; \$ 40.00

Published by Professor K.N. Chandrasekharan Pillai, Director for the Indian Law Institute, <u>www.ilidelhi.org</u> and printed at Shivam Offset, A-12/1, Naraina Industrial Area-1, New Delhi-28



### **EDITORIAL COMMITTEE**

#### **CHAIRMAN**

Chief Justice V. N. Khare President, Indian Law Institute

#### **MEMBERS**

Justice R.C. Lahoti

Judge, Supreme Court

I.P. Massey Member

State Human Rights Commission,

Himachal Pradesh

Justice Ashok A. Desai

Chief Justice

Uttaranchal High Court

P.P. Rao

Senior Advocate Supreme Court

M.P. Jain

Distinguished Fellow Indian Law Institute S.K. Verma

Formerly Director Indian Law Institute

#### **EDITOR**

K. N. Chandrasekharan Pillai
Director
Indian Law Institute

#### CO-EDITOR

Thomas Paul
Associate Research Professor
Indian Law Institute

#### DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer

Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah

Professor Lotika Sarkar

Professor M. P. Jain

Professor J. Duncan M. Derrett

#### HONORARY PROFESSORS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad