

THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW

VOLUME XL: 2004

EDITOR: K. N. CHANDRASEKHARAN PILLAI

CO-EDITOR: THOMAS PAUL



© The Indian Law Institute (2005)

The Indian Law Institute shall be the sole copyright owner of all the published material. Apart from fair dealing for the purposes of research, private study or criticism no part of this *Survey* may be copied, adopted, abridged, translated, stored in any retrieval system, computer system, photographic or other system or reproduced in any form by any means whether electronic, mechnical, digital, optical, photographic or otherwise without prior written permission from the publisher.

The editors, publishers and printers do not claim any responsibility for the views expressed by the contributors and for the errors, if any, in the information contained in the *Survey*.

Mode of Citation XL ASIL (2004) June 2005

Inland: Rs. 600.00 Foreign: £ 25.00; \$ 40.00

DISTRIBUTOR

Universal Book Traders

C-27, Connaught Place (Between Odean & Plaza) Middle Circle, New Delhi 110001 Tel: 011-23416277, 23418671 FAX: 011-23418014 80, Gokine Market, Opp. Tis Hazari Courts. Delhi -- 110054 Tel.: 011-23911966, 23961288

FAX: 011-23924152 Email:unilaw@vsnl.com Website: www.unilawbooks.com

Published by Professor K.N. Chandrasekharan Pillai, Director for the Indian Law Institute, <u>www.ilidelhi.org</u> and printed at Shivam Press, A-12/1, Naraina Industrial Area-I, New Delhi-28



EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

CHAIRMAN

Chief Justice R.C. Lahoti President, Indian Law Institute

MEMBERS

Justice Y.K. Sabharwal

Judge

Supreme Court of India

Justice Ashok A. Desai

Formerly Chief Justic Uttaranchal High Court Upendra Baxi

Professor of Law

University of Warwick

P.P. Rao

Senior Advocate

Supreme Court

B.B. Pande

Professor of Law University of Delhi

EDITOR

K. N. Chandrasekharan Pillai Director, ILI

CO-EDITOR

Thomas Paul
Associate Research Professor, ILI



DISTINGUISHED FELLOWS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Justice V. R. Krishna Iyer

Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah

Professor Lotika Sarkar

HONORARY PROFESSORS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Dr. Rajeev Dhavan

Dr. K.M. Sharma

Professor Clarence J. Dias

Professor Yash Ghai

Professor A.R. Blackshield

Dr. D. Conrad