ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW VOLUME LVII : 2021

ISSN 0570-2666



THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE NEW DELHI

ANNUAL SURVEY OF INDIAN LAW VOLUME LVII : 2021

EDITOR : MANOJ KUMAR SINHA

EDITORIALASSISTANT : RASHI KHURANA

iii

© The Indian Law Institute (2020)

The Indian Law Institute shall be the sole copyright owner of all the published material. Apart from fair dealing for the purposes of research, private study or criticism, no part of this *Survey* may be copied, adopted, abridged, translated, stored in any retrieval system, computer system, photographic or other system or reproduced in any form by any means whether electronic, mechanical, digital, optical, photographic or otherwise without prior written permission from the publisher.

The editors, publishers and printers do not claim any responsibility for the views expressed by the contributors and for the errors, if any, in the information contained in the *Survey*.

Mode of Citation LVI ASIL (2021)

Published : January, 2020

Inland : Rs. 700.00 Foreign : £ 27.00; \$ 42.00

Published by Professor Manoj Kumar Sinha, Director The Indian Law Institute, www.ili.ac.in and Printed at Shivam Offset Press, New Delhi

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE

CHAIRMEN Chief Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde/N.V. Ramana President, The Indian Law Institute

MEMBERS

Upendra Baxi Formerly Vice-Chancellor University of Delhi **B B Pande** Formerly Professor of Law University of Delhi

EDITOR

Manoj Kumar Sinha Director The Indian Law Institute

EDITORIALASSISTANT Rashi Khurana

DISTINGUISHED FELLOW OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Justice M N Venkatachaliah

HONORARY PROFESSORS OF THE INDIAN LAW INSTITUTE

Dr Rajeev Dhavan Professor Clarence J Dias Professor Yash Ghai