## APPENDIX I

## LIST OF ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNALS\*

Rent Controllers and the Rent Control Tribunal under the Delhi Rent Control Act, 1958.

- 2. The Income Tax Appellate Tribunal under the Income Tax Act, 1961.
- 3. Labour Courts under the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.
- 4. Industrial Tribunals under the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.
- 5. National Industrial Tribunals under the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947.
- 6. Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923.
- 7. Authority under the Payment of Wages Act, 1936.
- 8. Authority under the Minimum Wages Act, 1948.
- 9. Employees' Insurance Court under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948.
- 10. Medical Appeal Tribunals under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948.
- 11. The Railway Rates Tribunal under the Railways Act, 1890.
- 12. Motor Accident Claims Tribunals under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1939.
- 13. Regional Transport Authorities under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1939.
- 14. State Transport Authorities under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1939.
- 15. State Transport Appellate Tribunals under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1939.
- 16. The Inter-State Transport Commission under the Motor Vehicles Act, 1939.
- 17. Tribunals under the Merchant Shipping Act, 1958 to settle disputes between seamen and employers under the Act.
  - \* The list contains administrative tribunals under the central enactments. The term "administrative tribunal" has been used in the narrow sense of a body which is not part and parcel of a government department (though discharging quasi-judicial functions), but a body somewhat independent of the departmental influence. Though great care has been used in listing here only such bodies, yet the possibility of a few departmental bodies having been included in the list may not be ruled out because of certain difficulties in identifying various bodies ; similarly for the same difficulties it is not unlikely that a few "tribunals" may have been left out. In preparing this list if any departmental body has been included it may be due to the author's own predilection to regard those bodies as are not concerned with departmental policies to be "administrative tribunals". As stated in Chapter VII, where departmental policies are not material, the task of adjudication ought to be entrusted to an "administrative tribunal" which is not an integral part of the government department.

)

- 18. The Court of Survey under the Merchant Shipping Act, 1958.
- 19. The Foreign Exchange Regulation Appellate Board under the Foreign Exchange Regulation Act, 1973.
- 20. Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices Commission under the Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices Act, 1969.
- 21. The Election Commission under the Representation of the People Act, 1951.
- 22. The Registrar under the Trade and Merchandise Marks Act, 1958.
- 23. Compensation Tribunals under the various nationalisation statutes, such as, the Air Corporations Act, 1953; the Life Insurance Corporation Act, 1956; the Coal Bearing Areas (Acquisition and Development) Act, 1957.
- 24. Water Disputes Tribunals under the Inter-State Water Disputes Act, 1956.
- 25. The Tribunal under the Textiles Committee Act, 1963.
- 26. The Tribunal under the Delhi School Education Act, 1973.
- 27. The Delhi Cooperative Tribunal under the Delhi Cooperative Societies' Act, 1972.
- 28. The Appellate Tribunal under the Delhi Sales Tax Act, 1975.
- 29. The Appellate Tribunal under the Smugglers and Foreign Exchange Manipulators (Forfeiture of Property) Act, 1976.
- 30. The Appellate Officer under the Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorised Occupants) Act, 1971.
- 31. The Prescribed Authority under the Delhi Lands (Restricitions on Transfer) Act, 1972.
- 32. The Competent Authority under the Prevention of Publication of Objectionable Matter Act, 1976.
- The Administrative Tribunal under the Constitution (Thirty-second Amendment) Act, 1973.
- 34. The Appellate Authority under the Produce Cess Act, 1966.
- 35. The Press and Registration Appellate Board under the Press and Registration of Books Act, 1867.
- 36. Arbitrator under the Atomic Energy Act, 1962.
- 37. The Chief Controlling Revenue Authority under the Indian Stamp Act, 1899.
- 38. The Appellate Tribunal under the Cinematograph Act, 1952.
- 39. The Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Tribunal under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967.
- 40. The Special Court under the Waste Lands (Claims) Act, 1863.
- 41. The Copyright Board under the Copyright Act, 1957.
- 42. Urban Land Tribunals under the Urban Land (Ceiling and Regulation) Act, 1976.
- 43. The Appellate Authority under the Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974.