## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

The International Centre for Alternative Dispute Resolution (ICADR) and the World Bank have rightly chosen the Indian Law Institute to undertake this study, which is of current importance to our polity. We in the ILI felt extremely happy to do this with dedication not only because of our strong commitment to legal research but also we wanted to prove that we are worthy of the confidence reposed on us by the ICADR and the World Bank. It gives us immense pleasure that we could finish the study in time.

We take this opportunity to express our deep sense of gratitude to the following persons for their guidance and support.

Honourable Mr. Justice S. B. Sinha, Judge, The Supreme Court of India

Honourable Mr. Justice Madan B. Lokur, Judge, Delhi High Court

Honourable Dr. Justice S. Muralidhar, Judge, Delhi High Court

Honourable Mr. Justice V. Gopala Gowda, Judge, High Court of Karnataka

Honourable Mr. Justice Jawed Rahim, Judge, High Court of Karnataka

Honourable Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud, Judge, Bombay High Court

Mr. T.K. Viswanathan, Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs, Ministry of Law & Justice, Government of India

Mr. K.D. Singh, Secretary, Legislative Department, Ministry of Law & Justice, Government of India

Honourable Mr. Justice Chinnappa, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka

Honourable Mr. Justice Mohd Anwar, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka

Honourable Mr. Justice I.P. Vasisth, Former Judge, High Court of Allahabad

Mr. B.S. Saluja, Secretary-General, ICADR

Dr. Syed I. Ahmed, Lead Counsel, LEGES, The World Bank

Mr. Klaus Decker, Counsel, Justice Reform Practice Group, The World Bank

Mr. P.H. Parekh, Senior Advocate; President, Supreme Court Bar Association

Mr. S. K. Dholakia, Senior Advocate, The Supreme Court of India

Mr. Suman Jyoti Khaitan, Advocate and Member, Committee of ICADR

Mr. R. S. Seth, Secretary, National Legal Services Authority

Dr. M.P. Raju, Advocate, The Supreme Court of India

Sri. Keshavanarayan, Director, Bangalore Mediation Centre.

Sri. Ravindra, District Judge, Bangalore

Prof. Subramanya T.R., Dean, Faculty of Law, Bangalore University

Prof. K.M.H. Rayappa, Principal, University Law College, Bangalore

Prof. Suresh Mane, Head, Department of Law, University of Mumbai

Mr. K.M. Gopakumar, Research Fellow, Centre for Trade and Development, New

Delhi

Special thanks are due to Mr. Dalip Kumar, Registrar, Indian Law Institute, New Delhi for his timely help and support. We also thank student researchers in ILI for helping us in the data collection for Delhi. There are many others who have directly and indirectly contributed for the successful completion of the study through their zealous support and encouragement. We are deeply indebted to them all.

Research Team
The Indian Law Institute