## QUANTITATIVE BREAKDOWN OF PRESS COUNCIL DECISIONS

TABLE I
Pressurisation and Harassment of Newspapermen

Sr. no.	Short name of case	Dismissed/ rejected	Adjudicated/ accepted	Settled  compro- mised
1.	Blitz Correspondent		+	
2.	Editor, Dehati Janata	!		
3.	Editor and Publishers, Prakatane	- -		
4.	Editor, Karnataka Premajyothi	4-		
5.	Suo motu action by Press Council			+
6.	Editor, Saptahik Adamya	- · •		
7.	Chief Editor, The Bharti Leader	4.		
8.	Chief Editor, Khabaryaar		+	
9.	Wife of Editor and Publisher, Prachan	d	÷ +	
10.	Editor, Dally Samaj	+		
11.	Chief Editor, April Duniya	- <del>!</del> -		
12.	Chief Editor, Malayala Manorama		+	
13.	Editor, Yahan Wahan		+	
14.	Editor, Pilot	4.		
15.	General Secretary, A.P. Union of			
	Working Journalists			+
16.	Ex-Correspondent, Blitz		+	
17.	Editor, Pilot	+		
18.	President, Press Reporters' Association			
	Parvatipuram	. 1.		
19.	Editor, Dainik Sambad	!		
20.	President, Hyderabad Urdu Journalists			
	Association			
21.	Chief Editor, Khabaryaar			
22.	Managing Partner, The Evidence	:		
22. 23.	Chief Photographer, Tribune	•	÷	
24.	General Secretary, All Manipur		•	
-7.	Working Journalists Union, Imphal	-:-		
25.	Correspondent, Blitz, U.N.I.	•	+	
25. 26.	Chief Editor, Mahajati			
26. 27.	Secretary, Assam Journalists Association	n	+	
27. 28.	General Secretary, Press Club of		•	
	Garhwal, Kotdwara	4.		
29.	Suo motu action by Press Council		. Į.	
30.	Member, Working Committee, I.F.W.J	i <b>.</b>	+	
50. 31.	Editor, Himachal Times	+	•	
32.	Editor, Jai Ai Asom	•	+	

Sr. no.		Dismissed/ rejected	Adjudicated  accepted	Settled/ compro- mised
33.	Resident-editor, Indian Express			
34.	Editor, Daily Muzaffarnagar Bulletin		<b>!</b> -	
35.	Member, Press Council			
36.	Suo motu action by Press Council			.ļ.
<b>37.</b>	Suo motu action by Press Council			į.
38.	Editor, Dainik Janambhumi		<u>.</u> .	
39.	Editor, Rajtantra	-		
40.	General Secretary, Hyderabad Daily Newspapers Association	- <del> </del> -		
41.	Editor, Kanoon Tax Aur Films Week	dy ÷		
42.	Alai Osai		ļ	
43.	District Journalists' Association, Aligarh	1.		
44.	Editor, Searchlight			
45.	Editor, Nasheman	4-		
46.	Convenor, Madhya Pradesh Small Newspapers' Association	4-		
47.	Kashi Patrakar Sangh	<u> </u>		
48.	Secretary-General, Haryana Small Newspapers Editors' Association	<del>:                                    </del>		
49.	Malayala Manorama		-!-	
<b>50</b> .	Editor of a Hindi daily of Gwalior	<del>i</del> -		
	Total	26	19	5
	Percentage	52%	38%	10%

<sup>\*</sup>These complaints were dismissed as matter was sub judice.

TABLE II

## Accreditation and Freedom

Sr. no.	Short name of case	Dismissed/ rejected	Adjudicated/ accepted	Settled/ compro- mised
1.	Journalist and Resident Representative	e,		
	Dainik Janta Express, etc.			
2.	Secretary, U.P. Small and Medium			
	Newspapers Editors' Council		÷	
3.	Special Correspondent, Nav			
	Bharat Times		;	
4.	Suo motu action by Press Council			÷
5.	Suo motu action by Press Council			<b>+</b> -
6.	A journalist	;		
7.	Correspondent, Sarita, Mukta, etc.			+
8.	Founder Secretary-General, Indian Federation of Working Journalists		÷	
9.	Journalist and Editor, Madhya Seema Samachar	ınt		+
10.	Secretary, Chandigarh Union of			
• •	Journalists		÷	
J1.	Editor, Pilot			
12.	Editor, Searchlight		5 , 5 , 7	
13.	Journalist of Monghyr			<u> </u>
	Total	2	6	5
	Percentage	15.4%	46.2%	38.4%

## TABLE III

## Advertisement and Freedom

Sr. no.	Short name of case	Dismissed/ rejected	Adjudicated  accepted	Settled/ compro- mised
1.	News Editor, Barendrabhumi			
2.	Chief Editor, Yuwa Sapna	- i ·		
3.	Editor, Indian Personality	÷-		
4.	Suo motu action by Press Council		-1	
5.	Editor, Secular Indian Youth	÷	·	
6.	Editor and Publisher, Saptahik Mujah	id :		
7.	Partner, Saptahik Nilachal			+
8.	Managing Director, Ranchi Express			+
9.	Secretary, Newspapers and			•
	Publications Ltd.			- ‡-
10.	Chief Editor, Sanchar Samachar			•
10.	Darpan	<del> -</del>		
1.	Proprietor-Editor, Dainik Sambad	r	-1-	
11. 12.	Publisher, Khoon Naab		-1-	
13.	•			
	Chief Editor, Saptahik Chambal Van	i ÷		
4.	Editor, Uttar Bangla Patrika			
15.	Editor, Jayant			- <del> -</del>
16.	Member, Press Council of India			~;-
17.	Editor-cum-Proprietor, Manush Patr	ika	- 1	
18.	Editor, Muzassarnagar Bulletin			- 1
19.	Chief Editor, Azimabad Express		4	
20.	Editor, Campus Reporter	::		
21.	Chief Editor, Naveen Duniya	!-		
22.	Publisher and Editor, Swatantra Doo	t		
	Saptahik	***		
23.	General Manager, Alai Osai	- <b>j</b> -		
24.	Editor, Urja			- 1
25.	Chief Editor, Charitra Vikas		11	
26.	Chief Editor, Hitavada	i		
27.	Editor, Sankata-Uvaach	1.		
28.	Editor, Searchlight and Pradeep		-1	
29.	Editor, Tarjman	·!		
30.	Editor, New Republic	1-		
31.	Editor, Gomantak	-		
32.	Editor, Swadesh	.,		
33.	Editor, Tarun Bharat	'		· <del> -</del>
34.	Editor, Prajatantra			
35.	Editor, Niranjan			i
36.	Publisher, Musalman	111		
37.	Editor, Dainik Sambad	-1-		
37. 38.	Editor, Tribune		<del>+</del>	
39.	Editor, Tribune Editor, Gujarat Herald			
		+		
40.	Managing Director, Hind Samachar	-1		

Sr. no.	Short name of case	Dismissed/ rejected	Adjudicated  accepted	Settled/ compro- mised
41.	Editor, Lok Patra	. ‡ .		
42.	Publisher, Lal Sitara	· i		
43.	Proprietor, Daily Pratap			-‡-
44.	Managing Proprietor, Pratap and			
	Vir Arjun	:		
45.	Editor, Gana Abhijan	+		
46.	Editor, Indore Samachar		<del>-i-</del>	
<b>4</b> 7.	Editor, Ranjit			+
	Total	25	11	11
	Percentage	53.2%	23.4%	23.4%

TABLE IV

Freedom of the Press: Miscellaneous

Sr. no.	Short name of case	Dismissed  rejected	Adjudicated  accepted	Settled/ compro- mised
1.	Special Correspondent, Blitz	;		
2.	Secretary, West Bengal Newspaper's			
	Right Preservation Committee	+		
3.	Editor, Nayee Mashal	+		
4.	Editor, Arjun Bhaan			÷
5.	Editor, Vishwa Manav		<del>+</del>	•
6.	Suo motu action by Press Council		· <del>L</del>	
7.	Editor, Campus Reporter	ř	•	
8.	Chief Sub-Editor, Jugantar and others		<del> -</del>	
9.	Ex-M.P. and Chief Editor, Mahajati	-}-		
10.	Suo motu action by Press Council	- <del> -</del>		
11.	Editor, Dainik Sarvmath	-}-		
12.	Editor, Daily Pratap	i-		
13.	Editor, Scarchlight	,		
14.	Punjab Working Journalists' Union	-,-		,
15.	Secretary, U.P. Working Journalists'	,		
	Union	.4.		
16.	Press Correspondent, Pradeep, Hind	•		
11.	Samachar		÷:	
17.	Director and Secretary, Maharaja		'	
17.	Features (P) Ltd.			
18.	Ex-Member of Parliament	*		
	(a)			:
	(b)			,
19.	Special Correspondent, Cine Advance		1	
19. 20.	General Secretary, Tripura Journalists	•		
	Association			
21.	Utkal Journalists' Association			
21. 22.	An Advocate			
		<del>}</del>		
23.	Employee, Press Trust of India	-}		
	Total	16	5	3
	Percentage	66.7%	20.8%	12.6%