#### WEST BENGAL

There are six universities offering Law courses as indicated below:

#### I. BURDWAN UNIVERSITY, BURDWAN

- 623. Law College, Golaphag, Durgapur, Burdwan, West Bengal-713104. It started operations in 2005. It offers three year LL.B course.
- 624. Deptt. Of Law (Gopalbag), Burdwan University, Burdwan 713104, West Bengal (Ph. 0342-556549, 556566). It started operations in 1971. It offers three year LL.B course. Candidates are selected on the basis of marks. Medium of instruction: English.
- 625. Hoogly Mohsin College, Chinsura(P.O.), Hoogly(Distt.), West Bengal. It started operations in 1971. It offers three year LL.B course.
- 626. Sarsuna Law College, 4/HB/A, Ho-Chi-Minh Sarani, (Sarsuna Satellite Township), Sarsuna, Kolkata, West Bengal-700061. It started operations in 2005. It offers three year LL.B course.

### II. CALCUTTA UNIVERSITY, KOLKATA

- 627. Department of Law Calcutta University, 51/1 Hazra Road, Kolkata 700 019, West Bengal (Ph. 2475-5801). It started operations in 1909. It offers five year LLB course. Selection is made on the basis of entrance examination where minimum 40% marks are fixed. Medium of instruction: English.
- 628. Jogesh Chandra Choudhury Law College, 30, Prince Anwar Shah Road, Kolkata, West Bengal-700033. It offers five year LLB course.
- 629. South Calcutta Law College, 6/1, Swinhoe Street Kolkata 700019, West Bengal (Ph. 24408182, E-mail: sclawedu@vsnl.net). It started operations in 1970. It offers five year LL.B course. All admission work is conducted by the Law Faculty, University of Calcutta. Medium of instruction: English.
- 630. Surendra Nath Law College, 24-2, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Kolkata, West Bengal-700009. It offers five year LLB course.

### JII. NORTH BENGAL UNIVERSITY, RAJARAMMOHANPUR, WEST BENGAL

- 631. Balurghat Law College, P.O. Balurghat, Distt. Dakshin Dinajpur 733 101, West Bengal (Ph. 03522-271148). It started operations in 2001. It offers three year LL.B course. There is no separate entrance examination conducted. However, admissions are made on merit basis of minimum marks and maximum age. Medium of instruction: English.
- 632. Department of Law, University of North Bengal, P.O. N.B.U., Dt. Darjeeling 734 430, West Bengal. It started operations in 1974. It offers five year LL.B course. Admissions are made on the basis of marks. Medium of instruction: English.
- 633. Jalpaiguri Law College, Shirbari, Beguntary, P.O. + Distt. Jalpaiguri 735 101, West Bengal (Ph. 03561-230905). It started operations in 1981. It offers five year LL.B course. Admissions are made on the basis of marks. Medium of instruction: English.

## IV. VIDYASAGAR UNIVERSITY, MIDNAPORE, WEST BENGAL

- 634. Haldia Law College, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Bhavan Municipal Complex, City Center, P.O. Debhog Punba, Medimpur 720 657, West Bengal (Ph. 03224-255355-56). It started operations in 2003. It offers three year and five year LL.B courses. Admission is made on the basis of entrance examination. Medium of instruction: English.
- 635. Midnapore Law College, Rangamati, P.O. Vidyasagar University, Distt. Paschim Medinipur 721 102, West Bengal (Ph. 03222-271855-56). It started operations in 2002. It offers five year LL.B course. Selection is comprised of two rounds. In first round, there is an entrance examination and in round second, interview is conducted. Final selection is done on the basis of performance in both the examinations. Medium of instruction: English.

### V. UNIVERSITY OF KALYANI, KALYANI, WEST BENGAL

636. Bimal Chandra College of Law, P.O. Kandi, Distt. Murshidabad – 742 137, West Bengal (Ph. 03484-258070-71). It started operations in 2002. It offers three year LL.B course. Selection is based on marks and interview. Medium of instruction: English and Bengali.

637. Snehangshu Kanta Acharya Institute of Law, Kalyani. It started operations in 2004. It offers five year LL.B course.

# VI. WEST BENGAL NATIONAL UNIVERSITY OF JURIDICAL SCIENCES, KOLKATA

638. West Bengal National University of Judicial Sciences, Kolkata. It started operations in 1999. It offers five year LL.B course. Admission is done on the basis of rank obtained in the entrance examination conducted by the University itself. It has two streams of 5 year programme.: BA. LL.B and BSc. LL.B. Medium of instruction: English.