APPENDIX IX

HOME DEPARTMENT

POLITICAL

NOTIFICATION

The 24th July, 1957

No. 5643-P-I(C)-57/13421.—The Government of India have decided that for the purpose of the constitution of Regional Committees of the Legislative Assembly of the Punjab State, for which a provision has been made under Article 371 of the Constitution, the State of the Punjab shall be divided into two regions as follows:—

HINDI REGION DISTRICTS

- 1. Simla.
- 2. Kangra.
- 3. Hissar.
- 4. Rohtak.
- 5. Gurgaon.
- 6. Karnal.
- 7. Ambala—
- (i) Ambala Tehsil.
 - (ii) Jagadhri Tehsil.
- (iii) Naraingarh Tehsil.
- 8. Mohindargarh.
- 9. Kohistan (now included in the district of Patiala).
- 10. Sangrur-
 - (i) Jind Tehsil.
 - (ii) Narwana Tehsil.

- PUNJABI REGION DISTRICTS
 - 1. Hoshiarpur.
 - 2. Jullundur.
 - 3. Ludhiana.
 - 4. Ferozepur.
 - 5. Amritsar.
 - 6. Gurdaspur.
 - 7. Ambala
 - (i) Rupar Tehsil,
 - (ii) *Kharar Tehsil,
 - 8. Patiala.
 - 9. Barnala (now included in the district of Sangrur).
 - 10. Bhatinda.
 - 11. Kapurthala.

- Fatehgarh Sahib (now included in the district of Patiala).
- 13. Sangrur-
 - (i) Sunam Tehsil.

(ii) Sangrur Tehsil.

*Subject to the following modifications:-

- (1) Chandigarh Capital Project area will not form part of either of the two regions. So long, however, as it does not become a full-fledged constituency on population basis, its representative will sit in the Regional Committee for the Punjabi Region.
- (2) The following areas of Kharar Tehsil will be included in the Hindi Region:--
 - (a) Area covered by the Kalka Police Station;
 - (b) Zail Chandi Mandir; and
 - (c) Seventeen villages of Zail Mubarakpur, which are included in the Naraingarh constituency of the State Legislative Assembly as defined in the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 1956 (corrected upto the 31st March, 1957).

(Sd.) Nakul Sen,

Chief Secretary to Government, Punjab.

Chandigarh:

The 24th of July, 1957.